Sunday, February 28, 2016

Grand Slam Tennis

Grand slam tournaments are four major annual tennis tournaments that offer most ranking points, prize money and popularity.
  • Australian Open in January on hard court in Melbourne started in 1905
  • French Open in May or June on clay court in Paris started in 1891.
  • Wimbledon in June or July on grass court in London started in 1877.
  • US Open in August or September on hard court in New York since 1881
Winning all four tournaments in same year winning grand slam. Don Budge in 1938 is the first official champion. Rod Laver won it two times in men's singles in 1962 and 1969. Margaret court won once in women's singles and twice in women's mixed doubles. Esther vergeer won twice in women's wheelchair doubles. Stefen Edburg won in men's juniors. Three women, Martin Connolly Banker in 1952, Margaret Court in 1970 and Steffi Graph in 1988 won all grand slam titles in single year.

Winning four grand slam tournaments in any year is called career grand slam. Six men including Fred Perry, Don Budge, Rod Laver, Roy Emerson, Andre Agassi, Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal are career grand slam winners. Ten women, Martin Connolly Banker, Doris Hart, Shirley Fry Irvin, Margaret Court, BillyJean King, Chirst Evert, Martina Navratilova, Serana Williams and Maria Sharapova won career grand slam in women's titles.

Winning Olympics gold medal along with four tournaments in same year is called golden grand slam. Winning four grand slam tournaments and an  Olympics gold medal is called  career grand slam. Andre Agasse is the first male player to win it.

Dong Budge won six consecutive singles grand slam titles. Roger Federer won 17 grand slam men's singles titles. Pete Sampras and Rafael Nadal won 14 grand slam men's single titles. Rafael Nadal won 9  French Open singles titles and that is the highest in a men's single tournament. Pete Sampras and Roger Federer won seven Wimbledon singles titles.

Margaret Court won 24 grand slam women's singles titles. Steffi Graph won 22 grand slam women's singles titles and is the only winner of golden grand slam in 1988. Serena Williams won 21 gran slam women's singles titles. Hellen Wills Moody won 19 grand slam women's single titles Chris Evert and Martin Navratilova won 18 women's singles titles. Margret Court won 11 Australian Open single titles. Chirst Evert won 7 French Open singles titles. Martina Navratilova won 8 Wimbledon titles. Molla Mallory won 8 U.S. open titles.


No comments: